When does New Jersey individual mandate go into effect?
If your company has less than 500 Form 1099-HCs to submit, you can do a mapped data upload. The State of New Jersey’s individual mandate, requiring residents to have qualifying coverage throughout the year, went into effect on January 1, 2019.
What’s the penalty for not complying with the individual mandate?
While final details are not available, we expect fully-insured employers will rely on their insurer to provide data to the State and self-insured employers will be required to submit their own data to the State. The penalty for employers who fail to comply is $50 per individual not reported to the State.
What do I need to know about the individual mandate?
An employer that offers health coverage through a self-insured health plan must report information about each individual enrolled in such coverage. This information must be reported on federal Form 1095-C, Part III, for any employee who is enrolled in coverage (and any spouse or dependent of that employee).
Who is the Department of Labor in New Jersey?
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the New Jersey Division on Civil Rights enforce these laws, not the New Jersey Department of Labor.
What are the labor laws in New Jersey?
1 Minimum Wage. New Jersey’s current minimum wage is $8.85. 2 Overtime. New Jersey labor laws require an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all 3 Meals and Breaks. 4 Vacation Leave. 5 Sick Leave. 6 Holiday Leave.
How old do you have to be to work in New Jersey?
New Jersey labor laws require employers to provide employees under the age of eighteen (18) with a thirty (30) minute break after five (5) consecutive hours of work. NJSA 34:2-21.17d (g) (4). New Jersey does not require employers to provide breaks, including lunch breaks, for workers eighteen (18) years old or older.
What are the overtime laws in New Jersey?
Overtime New Jersey labor laws require an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. NJ Dept. of Labor FAQs. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.
What is the minimum wage in New Jersey?
New Jersey Labor Laws – Wage and Hour. Minimum Wage. New Jersey’s current minimum wage is $8.85. For more information on New Jersey’s minimum wage laws, visit our New Jersey Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.