What labor law posters are required in Maryland?

What labor law posters are required in Maryland?

Required publications/posters for employers:

  • Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law.
  • Equal Pay for Equal Work.
  • Employment of Minors Fact Sheet.
  • Lie Detector Signature Sheet.
  • Notice to Tipped Employees.

    How late can a minor work in Maryland?

    *work before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. (minors may work until 9:00 p.m. from June 1 to Labor Day); work more than 5 consecutive hours without a non-working period of at least 30 minutes. *This is based upon a more restrictive Federal law.

    When is an employer not required to pay an employee in Maryland?

    Maryland law does not require employers to pay employees for reporting or showing up to work if no work is performed. An employer is also not required to pay an employee a minimum number of hours if the employer dismisses the employee from work prior to completing their scheduled shift.

    What are the rules for working in Maryland?

    MD Admin Rules, MD Dept. of Labor: Compensable Time The standards set forth pursuant to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act regarding on-call time may provide reasonable guidance.

    What are the sick leave laws in Maryland?

    Sick Leave. Maryland law requires certain employers to provide employees with sick leave benefits. Employers with 15 or more employees must provide paid sick leave. Employers with 14 or fewer employees must provide unpaid sick leave.

    When is no accrual of leave required in Maryland?

    No accrual of leave is required: (1) during a two-week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 hours; (2) during a one-week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 hours in the current and immediately preceding pay period; or (2) during a semi-monthly pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 26 hours.

    What are the labor and employment laws in Maryland?

    Maryland law prohibits an employer from discriminating and retaliating against employees in a variety of protected classes. Employers must also provide pregnancy accommodations and allow wage discussions. See EEO, Diversity and Employee Relations. Maryland allows preemployment drug tests, but limits credit checks.

    What’s the law on wage disclosure in Maryland?

    Maryland prohibits an employer from taking an adverse employment action against an employee who inquires about, discusses or discloses his or her own wages or the wages of another, if those wages have been disclosed voluntarily.

    What do you need to know about working in Maryland?

    The regulations may require protective clothing for certain types of work and may also require employers to provide certain medical tests (e.g. hearing tests) at company expense. Complaints for violations of these laws may be filed with Maryland Occupational Safety and Health (MOSH).

    How does an employer pay an employee in Maryland?

    Maryland employers must pay wages in cash, or by check convertible on demand, at face value, into cash. Direct deposit and debit cards are permitted under certain circumstances. An employer must set regular paydays and may pay employees biweekly or semimonthly. Less frequent paydays are permitted for exempt employees.