What do you need to know about salary exempt employees?

What do you need to know about salary exempt employees?

All workers, regardless of exempt status, have the right to a safe and healthy work environment, equal employment opportunities and non-discrimination, and the rights provided under the Family and Medical Leave Act. And like all employers, you are still bound by child labor laws regardless of employee exempt status.

What do you need to change from hourly to salary exempt?

You will have to create a change from hourly to salary letter that your employee will have to sign. This letter should indicate the previous pay of the employee, their new salary, whether they are exempt or not, and what the changes mean (in terms of job responsibilities).

What makes a position exempt from federal taxes?

What makes a position exempt? In order to be classified as exempt, an employee must meet all 3 of the following tests: The salary level test In order to be classified as exempt, an employee must be paid a minimum of $23,000 per year, or $455 per week.

How much do you have to make in California to be exempt from minimum wage?

In California, an employee’s salary must come out to double the state minimum wage, which would be $49,920 a year for companies with 26 or more employees or $45,760 for companies with 25 or fewer employees. Make sure the salary matches or exceeds this number (depending on how many employees you have) in order for them to be considered exempt.

What do you need to know about exempt employees?

To qualify for exemption, employees generally must meet certain tests regarding their job duties and be paid on a salary basis at not less than $684 * per week. Job titles do not determine exempt status. In order for an exemption to apply, an employee’s specific job duties and salary must meet all the requirements of the Department’s regulations.

How much do exempt employees make in California?

Exempt employees in California generally must earn a minimum monthly salary of no less than two times the state minimum wage for full time employment. Simply paying an employee a salary does not make them exempt, nor does it change any requirements for compliance with wage and hour laws. Discretion and Independent Judgment

What’s the minimum salary for a professional exemption?

For the professional exemption, employees must satisfy certain duties tests, but there is no minimum salary requirement under state law. Federal law establishes a minimum salary of $684 per week for the professional exemption.

What’s the minimum salary for exempt employees in Colorado?

On January 1, 2021, the minimum salary required to qualify for the executive/supervisor, administrative, and professional exemptions under state law increases to $778.85 per week. Note: In Colorado, exempt employees’ salary generally must also be sufficient to satisfy the minimum wage for all hours in a workweek.