How old do you have to be to be an employee in PA?

How old do you have to be to be an employee in PA?

According to federal law, you also cannot be discriminated against based on your age if you are over 40 years old, or for any disability or genetic issues. As an employee in the state of Pennsylvania, you are protected by federal law and state law, which in Pennsylvania adds a couple additional protections when it comes to discrimination.

Do you have a right to work in PA?

As a Pennsylvania employee, you have a right to work in a safe environment. Your employer is required to provide safety equipment, training and procedures to mitigate all threats of obvious danger on the job.

What do you need to know about Pennsylvania wage law?

Pennsylvania Admin. Code 34:9.1 details the deductions that are permissible under the law and it specifically requires that any deduction be for the benefit of the employee. Deductions for cash shortages; breakage, damage, or loss of the employer’s property; purchase of required uniforms or clothing; tools; etc.,…

Can a employer terminate an employee in Pennsylvania?

An important concept to digest as an employee in the state of Pennsylvania is at-will employment. In this state, and several others like it, an employer is free to terminate an employee at their own discretion (at will) for any or no reason at all.

What are the state employment laws?

State employment laws work alongside federal labor laws to provide employers and employees with a wide range of protections. Minnesota has laws covering the minimum wage, overtime pay, legal holidays, whistleblower rights, and the number of hours certain employees can be required to work.

What are the work laws in PA?

Pennsylvania employment laws also provide certain protections to employees in terms of an employees’ wages and benefits. The Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Act requires that employers pay employees overtime pay when an employee works more than 40 hours per week.

What is the minimum wage in PA?

  • 7.25 per hour.
  • What is the Law Regarding Overtime? Most employees in Pennsylvania must be paid overtime compensation for any hours they work over 40 straight time hours per week.
  • Is Compensatory (“Comp Time”) Legal?

    What are the labor laws in Pennsylvania?

    Meals and Breaks. Pennsylvania labor laws require employers to provide a thirty (30) minute break period to employees ages fourteen (14) through seventeen (17) who work five (5) or more consecutive hours. Pennsylvania Code 43-40.3(a) Employers are not required to provide breaks to employees eighteen (18) and over. PA Dept.