How much notice do you have to give a landlord in Washington State?

How much notice do you have to give a landlord in Washington State?

In most standard instances, a Washington landlord must provide 2 days of notice before entering an occupied unit. This includes occasions where repairs are being made or the space is being shown to a prospective tenant.

What are the rights of a tenant in Washington State?

What Are a Tenant’s Rights in Washington? Washington state tenants have a variety of important rights, including the right to take alternative action against a landlord that fails to provide a necessary repair or essential amenity in a timely manner.

Can a landlord enter a house without permission in Washington State?

A Washington landlord may enter without permission in cases of emergency, however. If proper notice is not given or a right to entry is abused to harass a tenant’s privacy, an affected Washington tenant may use it as grounds for lease termination.

Can a landlord change a tenant’s lock in Washington State?

In Washington, domestic abuse victims may request a lock change (at their own expense). Landlords, on the other hand, cannot unilaterally change a tenant’s lock. If they do, they may face penalties for precipitating an illegal lockout.

What are the laws in Washington State for landlords?

To read the specific laws in the WA State Residential Landlord-Tenant Act, click on the RCW (Revised Code of Washington) links throughout the Tenant Services website. Tenants Union Tenant Counselors are not attorneys, and this information should not be considered legal advice. Please read our full Tenant Union Disclaimer.

How to report a landlord in Washington State?

Violations should be reported to the DRC, the Washington State Human Rights Commission or the Federal HUD Hotline at 1-800-233-3247. The landlord does not have the legal right to enter a tenant’s residence without the consent of the tenant, a court order or an arbitration award, except in cases of emergency or abandonment.

How does a landlord deposit in Washington State?

Describe in the contract the conditions under which a deposit may be retained by the landlord. Place deposits in a trust account in Washington and give the tenant a receipt indicating its location. Within 14 days after tenant vacates, return the deposit with an itemized accounting for any amount withheld.

How long does a landlord have to give you notice of rent increase in Seattle?

The city of Seattle maintains a Rental Agreement Regulation Ordinance, which requires landlords to provide 60 days of advance notice before a rent rate increase of 10% or more. This ordinance also limits the amounts and values of certain fees charged by landlords. More information on it can be found here. Spokane Landlord Tenant Rights