What is considered full time hours in Alaska?
Permanent Full-time: Work 37:30 hours per week. For health insurance and retirement benefits purposes only, 30 hours is considered full-time. Supervisory (SU) and Labor, Trades and Crafts (LTC) employees are regularly scheduled to work 40 hours per week. Permanent Part-time: Work less than 37:30 hours per week.
How much money do you need to make to live in Alaska?
|1 ADULT||2 ADULTS (1 WORKING)|
|0 Children||2 Children|
|Required annual income after taxes||$26,962||$56,675|
|Required annual income before taxes||$31,333||$65,862|
What’s the minimum wage per hour in Alaska?
Effective Jan. 1, 2020, Alaska’s minimum wage is $10.19 per hour. This is calculated by multiplying all hours worked in the pay period by $10.19. This amount is the least amount that can be paid to an employee as wages. 2) Does my employer have to pay me more for overtime work? Yes, but there are a few exceptions.
Why are there so many laws in Alaska?
Many people came to Alaska because it was the “last frontier.” There were very few laws around, and so some people did pretty crazy things. To stop unwanted behavior, Alaskans made very specific laws that showed just how stir crazy some of these Alaska residents got! Why are there so many animals specific laws?
Do you need a reason to fire an employee in Alaska?
In Alaska, an employer does not need to give a reason to fire an employee. Therefore, he/she has not violated any wage and hour law. You may wish to check with an attorney to see whether you can file a civil lawsuit against your employer for wrongful discharge.
What are the requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act?
The Fair Labor Standards Act ( FLSA) sets forth federal minimum wage and overtime requirements. Although there are exceptions and exemptions to both minimum wage and overtime, most employers and employees are subject to those standards.*
What do you need to know about labor laws in Alaska?
1 Minimum Wage. Alaska’s current minimum wage rate is $9.89. 2 Overtime. Alaska labor laws require employers with four (4) or more employees to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 3 Meals and Breaks. 4 Vacation Leave. 5 Sick Leave. 6 Holiday Leave. 7 Jury Duty Leave.
How does wage and hour work in Alaska?
Wage and Hour enforces and administers Alaska labor laws to ensure that workers are justly compensated for their labors and safeguarded from unfair or unscrupulous practices.
What’s the minimum wage for child labor in Alaska?
The CHILD LABOR LAWS protect your health and future welfare, and protect you from unsafe activities or exploitation while working. Effective January 1, 2021, Alaska Minimum Wage is $10.34 per hour for all hours worked in a pay period, whether the work is measured by time, piece, commission or otherwise.
Is it legal to take a short break in Alaska?
Yes, there is one other section of Alaska labor laws for breaks, which states that in the event of a short break, one that is twenty minutes or less, the employer must compensate their employee for their time. However, these short breaks are entirely optional, as there is no law mandating breaks of any kind for employees 18 and over.