What do you do when someone steals your license plate in Florida?

What do you do when someone steals your license plate in Florida?

If your tag and/or decal has been lost or stolen, you must contact your local law enforcement agency to report the loss or theft prior to completing an Application for a Replacement (PDF) and submitting it to the Tax Collector. The cost to replace a lost tag is $36.90 and to replace a lost decal is $34.10.

Do people actually steal license plates?

People usually steal a license plate because the plate on their own vehicle has some obvious visible discrepancy that might catch the attention of a bored police officer.

Is stealing a license plate a felony in Florida?

In Florida, it is a criminal offense to knowingly attach to a vehicle a license plate or license tag that has not been lawfully assigned to such vehicle. Attaching a Tag or Plate Not Assigned is a misdemeanor, with penalties that may include and jail and, more often, the creation of a permanent criminal record.

What’s the maximum penalty for employee theft in Florida?

Where the amount equals or exceeds $100,000, the employee theft constitutes a first degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison or 30 years of probation, and a maximum fine of $10,000.

What happens if you steal a registration tag?

This means that stealing registration tags will generally mean a lesser larceny charge. Larceny charges usually fall into several categories ranging from petty larceny to grand larceny. A state may decide upon the category based on the value of the object stolen. The amount will vary depending on the state.

What are the defenses for theft in Florida?

In Florida, all defenses available to contest a conventional theft charge will apply where an individual is accused of employee theft. The most common defenses for these types of cases include the following: Lack of Evidence; The evidence the State of Florida has against an employee accused of theft can be deficient in many respects.

Why do employers penalize employees for theft in the workplace?

Second, employers often insist upon harsher sanctions in order to send a “zero tolerance” message in the workplace. Third, employee theft cases often involve a larger loss amount than ordinary theft, due to the employee’s ready-access to money and other property.

When to replace lost, stolen or destroyed license plates?

When drivers are caught in a situation where their car registration plates are lost, stolen or destroyed, they are required to begin a plate replacement procedure if they want to continue operating their motor vehicles. DMV license plates must be replaced at the state department of motor vehicles if they are mutilated, lost or stolen.

Is it a felony to issue a temporary license plate in Florida?

131(6), Florida Statutes, any person who knowingly and willfully issues a temporary tag or causes another to issue a temporary tag to a fictitious person or entity to avoid disclosure of the true owner of a vehicle commits a felony of the third degree.

How much does it cost to get a new license plate in Florida?

A completed Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal, or Parking Permit (Form HSMV 83146). Your current vehicle registration certificate. Payment for replacement fees: Damaged or defaced license plate: $28 If you’ve received a police citation, the replacement is free. Lost license plate replacement: $28.

Where do you put in God we trust on a Florida license plate?

Either “Sunshine State” or “In God We Trust” at the bottom (your choice). In addition, you must have a decal in the upper right corner of your license plate that shows the month and year that your registration expires. If you buy a vehicle from a Florida dealership, you will get a temporary plate valid for 30 days.