- 1 Do you want to work for the state of Minnesota?
- 2 How to search for a job in Minnesota?
- 3 Which is the largest employer in the state of Minnesota?
- 4 Can a person be fired for any reason in Minnesota?
- 5 How to find a career in Minnesota State Government?
- 6 When do you have to pay wages to an terminated employee in Minnesota?
- 7 How to contact Minnesota Department of Labor and employment?
Do you want to work for the state of Minnesota?
Whether you are an experienced professional or just getting started, we have a place for diverse and talented individuals – like you – who want to build a better Minnesota. Interested in working for the State of Minnesota?
How to search for a job in Minnesota?
Check out our job openings to find a career that’s the perfect fit. Looking for a promotion or interested in another agency? Search for jobs through the careers portal in Self Service. Using a screen reader or another type of assistive technology for your job search? Enter our accessible applicants portal.
Which is the largest employer in the state of Minnesota?
As the largest employer in the state, we offer a wide-range of job opportunities and tremendous potential for career advancement. Our jobs are located across the state and support over 100 agencies, boards, and commissions.
Can a person be fired for any reason in Minnesota?
Employment termination. Minnesota is an employment “at will” state. An employee can quit for any reason; an employer can fire any employee for any reason as long as that reason is not illegal, such as discrimination based on race, creed, color, sex, national origin, ancestry, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation or marital status.
How to find a career in Minnesota State Government?
Connect 700 Program. Connect 700 is an alternative path to gainful employment for individuals with disabilities that may experience barriers in competitive hiring processes. Search for Careers Within the State of Minnesota. Some pages of this site may be unavailable on Sunday between 7 a.m. and noon for maintenance.
When do you have to pay wages to an terminated employee in Minnesota?
Payment of wages due A terminated employee’s paycheck must be paid within 24 hours of the employee’s demand for wages (see Minnesota Statutes 181.13). If an employee quits, wages are due on the next pay period that is more than five days after quitting. However, wages must be paid within 20 days of separation (see Minnesota Statutes 181.14).
How to contact Minnesota Department of Labor and employment?
An employer must give a truthful reason why an employee was terminated, if requested in writing by the employee within 15 working-days of termination. The employer has 10 working-days from receipt of the request to give a truthful reason in writing for the termination. Contact us at [email protected], 651-284-5070 or 800-342-5354.